Please make thunar stop deleting invalid bookmarks
Submitted by Harald Judt
Assigned to Jannis Pohlmann
I'd say this is a feature request.
Use case: I'm often transferring projects from a laptop to another machine or vice-versa. This involves creating compressed tar archives and deleting the project directory before unpacking. Usually this is done by a script which does that all for me. As soon as thunar detects the directory has been deleted, its bookmark is removed from the shortcut pane. Hurray! Now I can work my way through the filesystem hierarchy to find the directory and add it back to the shortcut pane.
Another use case that might affect more people: Imagine you're dealing with network resources that are not mounted permanently and not via GVFS. You're moving your laptop to another place where that resource is unavailable. Bookmarks lost, great.
But in general: Why does thunar automatically delete the bookmark that the user has added for a good reason before, interfering with the user's personal workflow? It's just two clicks to delete the bookmarks, and that wouldn't be too much work if it had to be done manually. It'd be more work to add the bookmark back automatically.
How about simply adding a deleted emblem (that famous red cross thingy that is usually found on delete buttons) to the icon to indicate the resource does not exist anymore, or simply ignore the fact that the directory has been deleted? What's the reasoning behind bookmarks getting deleted by thunar?